4 MARCH - 13 MARCH 2022 (UTC)

28 August - 8 Sept 2024 (FST)

PNZ in Competition

The Paralympic Games is the largest international event for disabled athletes and it is held in the same style as the Olympic Games.

The Paralympic Games are held on a four yearly cycle for both the summer and winter games. The Paralympic Games are held immediately following their respective Olympic Games, in the same host city and venues as the Olympic Games.

The next Summer Games will be held in Tokyo, Japan from the 28 August through to 8 September 2020. The next Paralympic Winter Games will be held in Beijing, China from 4 March through to 13 March 2022.

Currently there are 29 sports (23 summer and 6 winter) that are contested at the Paralympic Games.

New Zealand has won a total of 221 Paralympic medals (190 Summer and 31 Winter).

Overview of the Paralympic Games

The Paralympic Games began in 1948 by Sir Ludwig Guttmann who wanted to start a sport that involved the veterans from World War II. On 29 July 1948, the Opening Ceremony of the London 1948 Olympic Games, the first organised competition for wheelchair athletes was founded. The event was called the Stoke Mandeville Games and included 16 injured service men and women who took part in the sport of Archery. The Games were later renamed the International Stoke Mandeville Games in 1952 when Dutch ex-servicemen joined in the event. The first official Paralympic Games were in Rome in 1960 and featured eight sports. The term “Paralympic Games” derives its name from the fact that the Games are held in ‘parallel’ directly after the Olympic Games.

The first Paralympic Games was held in 1960 in Rome, New Zealand first attended in 1968

The Games have developed from 400 athletes from 23 countries in Rome 1960 to over 4350 athletes from 160 countries in Rio 2016.

New Zealand Medal History - Summer Paralympic Games
Games Location G S B Total
2016 Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 9 5 7 21
2012 London, England 6 7 4 17
2008 Beijing, China 5 3 4 12
2004 Athens, Greece 6 1 3 10
2000 Sydney, Australia 6 8 4 18
1996 Atlanta, USA 9 6 4 19
1992 Barcelona, Spain 5 1 0 6
1988 Seoul, Korea 2 4 11 17
1984 New York, USA & Stoke Mandeville, England 8 10 7 25
1980 Arnhem, Holland 7 6 6 19
1976 Toronto, Canada 7 1 5 13
1972 Heidelberg, Germany 3 3 3 9
1968 Tel Aviv, Israel 1 2 1 4
1964 Tokyo, Japan New Zealand did not attend
1960 Rome, Italy New Zealand did not attend

History of the Summer Paralympic Games

Winter sports for disabled athletes gradually developed after World War II, as large numbers of injured soldiers and civilians tried to return to their skiing activities. Early pioneers experimented with skiing using prostheses.

It was in the 1970s that multi-disability skiing competitions started. In 1974, the first world championships were held in Grand Bornand in France, which featured Alpine (Downhill) and Nordic (Cross-Country) skiing for amputee and visually impaired athletes.

The first Paralympic Winter Games were held in 1976 in Örnsköldsvik, Sweden. There were competitions in Alpine and Nordic Skiing for amputee and visually impaired athletes, and a demonstration event in Sledge Racing.

The success of the first Games led to the second Winter Paralympics in 1980 in Geilo, Norway where New Zealand entered its first Disabled Ski Team.

By the third Paralympic Winter Games in 1984, which were held at Innsbruck, the New Zealand Disabled Ski Team were winning the New Zealand's first medals in international skiing competition.

From its inception in 1976, these teams were managed and sent to the Paralympic Games by Paralympics New Zealand. With the support of High Performance Sport New Zealand, Paralympics New Zealand and Snow Sports NZ now work very closely to maximise opportunities for the New Zealand team at the Paralympic Winter Games.

The Games have now grown with the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games being the largest Winter Games to date, with 567 athletes from 49 delegations competing across 80 medals events in six Para sports.

Further information can be found at http://www.paralympic.org/the-ipc/history-of-the-movement

Games Location G S B Total
New Zealand Medal History - Paralympic Winter Games
2018 PyeongChang, South Korea 1 1 1 3
2014 Sochi, Russia 0 1 0 1
2010 Vancouver, Canada 1 0 0 1
2006 Torino, Italy 0 0 0 0
2002 Salt Lake City, USA 4 0 2 6
1998 Nagano, Japan 4 1 1 6
1994 Lillehammer, Norway 3 0 3 6
1992 Albertville, France 2 0 0 2
1988 Innsbruck, Austria 0 1 0 1
1984 Innsbruck, Austria 1 3 1 5
1980 Geilo, Norway 0 0 0 0
1976 Ornskoldsvik, Sweden New Zealand did not attend

History of the Winter Paralympic Games

Major Partners

ToyatoHigh Performance Sport New Zealand

Official Partners

Adecco ACCHarvey NormanTVNZ

Community Partners

SanfordNew Zealand Chambers of Commerce
New Zealand Racing BoardPub CharityThe Lion FoundationNew Zealand Community Trust

Official Suppliers

Simpson Gierson Blue StarOceanbridge        


This website has only been made possible
thanks to the generous support of Sport New Zealand